Configure Data Not to Sync Between Blackboard and WebAssign for Courses Listed in a File

For WebAssign building block version 2.1.0 and later, you can upload a file of courses for which to disable syncing of some or all data. This feature is available only if you have enabled automatic syncing in the building block.

Instructors can disable or re-enable automatic syncing for specific courses, but they cannot specify which data are synced.

Note: Requires WebAssign building block version 2.1.0 and later.
Blackboard® and WebAssign can synchronize the following data:
  • Course rosters can be synced one way from Blackboard to WebAssign.
  • Assignment scores can be synced one way from WebAssign to Blackboard.
  1. Create a comma-separated file listing the course names and sync behavior for specified data.

    The first line of the file must be a header. Use the column names Class, Roster, and Grades.

    Subsequent lines must:

    • Specify the course ID for Class.
    • Specify either y (yes) or n (no) to indicate the sync behavior for Roster and Grades.

    For example:

    Class,Roster,Grades
    int580_1,y,n
    int580_2,n,y
  2. Sign in to Blackboard as a system administrator.
  3. Navigate to the list of installed building blocks.
    1. Open the administrator panel.
    2. Under Building Blocks, click Building Blocks.
    3. Click Installed Tools.
  4. Beside the WebAssign building block, click Settings.
  5. Upload the file you created.
    1. Under Courses to Exclude, select Upload a File of Courses.
    2. Click Browse or Choose File, depending on your browser.
    3. Navigate to the file you want to upload.
    4. Click Open or Choose, depending on your browser.
  6. Click Add to List.
    The managed courses are listed at the bottom of the page. For each data item, an icon is displayed indicating whether the data will be automatically synced.
    • green check mark indicates the data will be synced automatically.
    • red x indicates the data will not be synced automatically.
  7. Optional: Beside a course, click the green check mark or red x to change the auto-sync status for that item.