Manage Permission Groups

You can create groups of instructors at your institution in order to collaborate when creating assignments or questions. You can add instructors to, or remove yourself from, any group of which you are a member. Only group creators can rename groups, remove other group members, or delete groups.

Tip From the Assignment Editor, Assignment Templates Manager, or Question Editor, you can open the Groups window by clicking Manage My Groups or My Groups. After creating or renaming a group, close and reopen the assignment, template, or question to see your changes.
  1. Click Tasks > My Groups.
  2. Perform any of the following tasks:
    To do thisDo this
    Create a permission group
    1. In the Groups window, click Create New Group.
    2. Type a name for the group in Group Name.
    3. Under Members, select each of the instructors that you want to add to the group. You are automatically added as a member of any new group that you create.
    4. Click Save.

    The new group is listed in the Groups window. 

    Add instructors to a permission group
    1. In the Groups window, click the name of a group.
    2. Click Add new member.
    3. Under Members, select each of the instructors that you want to add to the group. 
    4. Click Save.
    Remove yourself from a permission group
    Note If you remove yourself from a group, you will not be able to edit assignments or questions that were shared with you using that group.
    1. In the Groups window, click the name of a group.
    2. Click remove beside your name.
    Remove another instructor from a permission group (group creator only)
    1. In the Groups window, click the name of a group.
    2. Click remove beside the instructor's name.
    Rename a permission group (group creator only) 
    1. In the Groups window, click the name of a group.
    2. Edit the name in Group Name and click Update.
    Delete a permission group (group creator only)
    Note When a group is deleted, only the original author can edit assignments or questions that were shared using that group.
    1. In the Groups window, click the name of a group.
    2. Remove every instructor from the group, including yourself.