Enable or Disable Private Messages

When you create a new course, by default students can send you private messages. In needed, you can turn this off for a course section. You can also turn private messages on if it has been disabled.

New sections, copied sections, and courses created by copying a section all copy the communication settings from the original section.

  1. From the toolbar, click communication icon Communication.

    If needed, select a class.

  2. Expand Private Messages and click Messages.
  3. Click Settings in the top right corner of the message list.
  4. Select either Enable or Disable.
  5. Click Apply.